Sam’s gluten-free chocolate and peanut butter brownies

Sam’s gluten-free peanut butter and chocolate brownie

Peanut butter is one of my guilty pleasures. Why? Because I simply love the taste of it. I also love the way in which it sticks to the roof of your mouth.

Another reason I love peanut butter so much is because it’s an ingredient that seems to marry up with other ingredients so well. The Americans seem to think that peanut butter and jam makes a great combination… And they are right, it does. The sweetness of the jam complements the rich buttery and creamy taste of the peanut butter.

Another peanut butter marriage that is made in heaven is chocolate and peanut butter, whether it’s crunchy or smooth. It just works for me. I hope that it works for you!

It’s taken several months and lost of hard work for my taste testers, but I have finally come up with the perfect recipe. So here it is… I am now about to share my secret brownie recipe with the masses, but I hope that it makes you smile just like it does me.

You can either bake this as cupcakes or in a tin. It’s up to you!
This recipe will make 12 muffin size cupcakes, or use a 12 inch tin, lined with baking paper.

You will need to pre-heat your oven to 180oc or gas mark 5.

Ingredients;
250g good quality dark chocolate
50g milk chocolate
165g butter (room temp)
265g caster sugar
1 teaspoon of instant coffee granules
1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
5 large eggs
2 tablespoons ground almonds
1/2 small jar of crunchy peanut butter

Method;
1. Put a small pan of water on to boil and place on top a heat proof bowl and put in the butter, sugar, chocolate, coffee and vanilla extract. Leave until melted.
2. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl gently whisk the eggs and the ground almonds.
3. Once the chocolate mixture is melted leave to cool for a few minutes and then put in the whisked eggs and fold in. You will feel the mixture thicken. Once mixed put into your tin or cupcakes cakes.
4. If you are using a tin, dollop the peanut butter at regular intervals in the tin. Once all the peanut butter is used, with a knife of the side of the spoon marble the peanut butter throughout the mixture. If you are making cupcakes, simply put a teaspoon in the centre of each cupcake.
5. Place into the oven for about 50 – 60 minutes if in a tin or 35-40 minutes if cupcakes at 180oC or gas mark 5. When you test them the knife should come out clean.

Once my brownies are cooked, I like to leave them in the oven once turned off. This mixture I’d very gooey once cooled and leaving them in tHe oven for an extra hour while the oven cools reduces some of the gooeyness.

If you want to make plain chocolate brownies then just leave the peanut butter out!

Happy baking 🙂

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑